Parliament’s Portfolio

Tanya Plibersek

Tanya Plibersek

ALPMember for SydneyNSWparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–47th · Member for Sydney · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Sydney · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

77
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
8
liabilities entries
17
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Feb 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
77current entries
  • Gift11
  • Office held11
  • Accounts9
  • Liability8
  • Other income8
  • Other (7)30
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift11
Office held11
Accounts9
Liability8
Other income8
Directorship6
Sponsored travel6
Trusts5
Real estate5
Other assets4
Other interest3
Shareholdings1
Total77
Who each entry is declared for
77current entries
  • Self34
  • Spouse/partner21
  • Dependent child13
  • Holder not stated9
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self34
Spouse/partner21
Dependent child13
Holder not stated9
Total77

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0510202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-093
2021-103
2021-113
2021-123
2022-013
2022-023
2022-033
2022-043
2022-053
2022-063
2022-073
2022-083
2022-094
2022-104
2022-114
2022-124
2023-015
2023-025
2023-035
2023-045
2023-055
2023-065
2023-075
2023-087
2023-098
2023-108
2023-118
2023-128
2024-018
2024-028
2024-039
2024-049
2024-059
2024-069
2024-079
2024-089
2024-099
2024-109
2024-119
2024-129
2025-019
2025-029
2025-039
2025-049
2025-059
2025-069
2025-079
2025-089
2025-099
2025-109
2025-119
2025-129
2026-019
2026-0210
2026-0310
2026-0410
2026-0510
2026-0610
2026-0710
2026-0810

67 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Banks
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 77 of 77 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

WBC · Westpac Banking
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Trusts (5)

Courts-Trouter Family TrustShares/investments
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Coutts-Trotter Family TrustShares/investments
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Jessie Street Foundationcharitable trust
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Jessie Street TrustCharitable Trust
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Sunday 6 April 2014 – Qantas flight 8073Upgraded business class to first class
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (5)

(jointly) RoseberyResidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Kingston (ACT) ACTResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Part owner of a flat (Caringbah NSW)Investment - inherited from deceased family member
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Rosebery (NSW) NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Rosebery (NSW) NSWResidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Directorship (6)

Anna Coutts-Trotter (Co-Founder and Director — not matched to an ASX listing
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Jessie Street Trust (Trustee) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Sydney Metro (ex-Officio Director) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
TCorp (ex-Officio Director) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
The Survivor Hub Ltd. — not matched to an ASX listing
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
iCare (ex-Officio Director) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Liability (8)

(jointly) mortgageWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Joint mortgages for self and spouse- Westpac Banking Corporation
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage (jointly held)Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage on Rosebery residence Mortgage on Caringbah property Mortgage on Llubjana propertyWestpac Westpac Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgage on Rosebery residence Mortgage on Kingston residence Mortgage on Caringbah property Mortgage on Llubjana propertyWestpac Westpac Westpac Westpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
MortgagesWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
MortgagesWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
mortgageWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (9)

Anna Coutts-Trotter - savings Joseph Coutts-Trotter - savings Louis Coutts-Trotter - savingsQudos Qudos Qudos
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Cheque accountQudos Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Cheque accountsQantas credit union
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Saving accountsQudos Bank
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsQudos
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings SavingsWestpac NAB
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings accountQudos Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings accountsQantas credit union
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings accountsNAB and Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (4)

Aware Superannuation account
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Aware Superannuation account
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
First State Superannuation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
First State Superannuation account
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (8)

Anna Coutts-Trotter - salary Joseph Coutts-Trotter - salary
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Rent Royalties from publication - donated equally to The Wayside Chapel and The Exodus Foundation
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Rental income
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Salary
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Salary Rent Coutts-Trotter Family Trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Wages
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
oldest daughter - salary
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (11)

Indigenous artwork - gift from Southern Youth and Family Services Warilla Housing Project (located in Ministerial Office) Aranet4 Home CO2 sensor - gift from Tobacco Free Portfolios (located in Ministerial Office)
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Aug 202347P ↗
Legal advice provided by Matt Collins
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 Jan 202347P ↗
Author copies of book
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Nov 202046P ↗
Installation of Foxtel set top box in Electorate Office Monthly subscription
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Feb 202046P ↗
1 x Taittinger Comtes de Champagne 2007, received from QantasValue: $330. Gifted to Bourke Street Public School for their Christmas fundraiser
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Membership of Virgin Australia Airlines 'The Club' for self and spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Australia Lounge Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership Virgin Australia Lounge Membership Astra Subscription Television and Radio Association - Foxtel subscription for electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas chairman's lounge membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Qantas chairman's lounge membership, virgin lounge membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (6)

2 tickets to Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix 2024 on 24/3/24 - from the Victorian Government
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Mar 202447P ↗
2 tickets to Wintjiri Wiru drone show from Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia on 26 July 2023 Accommodation upgrade to Sails in the Desert on 26 July 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Sept 202347P ↗
2 tickets to FIFA Women's World Cup match on 20/7/23 - from 89 Degrees East 3 tickets to FIFA Women's World Cup match on 6/8/23 - from Office of Sport
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Aug 202347P ↗
Hotel room upgrade provided by NH Hotel Group from 25 June 2022 to 30 June 2022. Accommodation was to attend the UN Oceans Conference in Lisbon in my capacity as Minister for the Environment and Water.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Sept 202247P ↗
Flights, accommodation and hospitality provided by China Matters, as part of a delegation. NB: Qantas flight upgrade for Sydney-Beijing leg of trip.
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 June 202046P ↗
Travel and accommodation for myself as part of a travelling party consisting of the Hon Bill Shorten MP and a member of his staff, the Hon Richard Marles MP and a member of his staff, and three representatives of the media (media representatives paid for their own accommodation) provided by Harold Mitchell as follows: 1. Charter flight from Essendon Airport, Melbourne to Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea on 1/11/15 including overnight accommodation in Port Moresby. 2. Flight from Port Moresby to Majuro, Marshall Islands on 2/11/15 including overnight accommodation in Majuro. 3. Flight from Majuro, Marshall Islands to Tarawa, Kiribati on 3/11/15 including overnight accommodation in Tarawa. 4. Flight from Tarawa, Kiribati to Townsville, Queensland on 4/11/15. 5. Flight from Townsville to Sydney on 4/11/15.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Office held (11)

Honorary Membership - City of Sydney RSL
Self
Declared since 19 Feb 202648P ↗
ALP (NSW Branch) Australian Republican Movement Challenge City of Sydney RSL EMILY's List Australia CPSU Family Drug Support Inner Sydney Voice CLAN (Patron) Life Education NSW (Ambassador)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
ALP NSW Branch (Member) Australian Fabian Society (Member) Australian Republican Movement (Member) Challenge (Member) City of Sydney RSL (Member) Community and Public Sector Union (Member) Emily’s List Australia (Member/Donor) Evatt Foundation (Member) Family Drug Support (Member) Inner Sydney Regional Council for Social Development (Member) Amnesty International (Donor) Bridge for Asylum Seekers Foundation (Donor) International Women’s Development Agency (Donor) Wayside Chapel (Donor) UNICEF Australia (Donor) Jessie Street Trust (Trustee/Donor) Life Education NSW (Ambassador) CLAN (Patron) Please note that I am also a donor of less than $300 per annum to a number of charities. Details can be provided if necessary.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Anna Coutts-Trotter - Member, Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch) Joseph Coutts-Trotter - Member, Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch)
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Appointment as Life Education NSW Ambassador - 2017
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
City of Sydney RSL (expires December 2018) - complimentary
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Fellow - Institute of Public Administration of Australia Chair - Heads of State and Territory Treasuries
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Honorary membership of the City of Sydney RSL 2019
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Member - Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch), CPSU, EMILY's List Australia, Jessie Street Trust, Family Drug Support, Inner Sydney Regional Council for Social Development, Australian Republican Movement, Evatt Foundation One-off donations to various charities
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
See attached list
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Two eldest children - ALP (NSW Branch)
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (3)

Anna Coutts-Trotter - Lifeline DV Ambassador, National Women's Safety Gender Based Violence working group with the Working Women Alliance - member, Qantas Frequent Flyer Platinum status
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge - complimentary membership Virgin Australia Lounge - complimentary membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Secretary, NSW Treasury Qantas Chairman's Lounge - complimentary membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateSydney, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “PLIBERSEK, Tanya JoanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateSydney, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “PLIBERSEK, Tanya JoanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateSydney, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “PLIBERSEK, Tanya JoanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateSydney, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “PLIBERSEK, Tanya JoanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateSydney, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “PLIBERSEK, Tanya JoanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Sydney. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

29 suburbs

Alexandria · Balmain · Balmain East · Barangaroo · Beaconsfield (NSW) · Birchgrove · Camperdown (NSW) · Chippendale · Darlington (Sydney - NSW) · Dawes Point · Erskineville · Eveleigh · Forest Lodge · Glebe (NSW) · Haymarket · Lilyfield · Lord Howe Island · Millers Point · Newtown (NSW) · Pyrmont · Redfern · Rosebery (NSW) · Rozelle · Surry Hills · Sydney · The Rocks (Sydney - NSW) · Ultimo · Waterloo (NSW) · Zetland

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 February 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.