Parliament’s Portfolio

Terri Butler

Terri Butler

ALPMember for GriffithQLDparliaments 44–46
  • 44th–46th · Member for Griffith · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Stormtrooper3 (CC BY-SA 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

120
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
4
real-estate declarations
9
liabilities entries
32
gifts and sponsored travel
1 Feb 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
120current entries
  • Sponsored travel23
  • Other interest19
  • Office held15
  • Directorship14
  • Accounts13
  • Other (7)36
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel23
Other interest19
Office held15
Directorship14
Accounts13
Liability9
Gift9
Other income6
Real estate4
Other assets4
Shareholdings3
Trusts1
Total120
Who each entry is declared for
120current entries
  • Self59
  • Spouse/partner36
  • Dependent child5
  • Holder not stated20
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self59
Spouse/partner36
Dependent child5
Holder not stated20
Total120

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01020202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0914
2021-1015
2021-1115
2021-1215
2022-0116
2022-0220
2022-0320
2022-0420
2022-0520
2022-0620
2022-0720
2022-0820
2022-0920
2022-1020
2022-1120
2022-1220
2023-0120
2023-0220
2023-0320
2023-0420
2023-0520
2023-0620
2023-0720
2023-0820
2023-0920
2023-1020
2023-1120
2023-1220
2024-0120
2024-0220
2024-0320
2024-0420
2024-0520
2024-0620
2024-0720
2024-0820
2024-0920
2024-1020
2024-1120
2024-1220
2025-0120
2025-0220
2025-0320
2025-0420
2025-0520
2025-0620
2025-0720
2025-0820
2025-0920
2025-1020
2025-1120
2025-1220
2026-0120
2026-0220
2026-0320
2026-0420
2026-0520
2026-0620
2026-0720
2026-0820

100 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 124 of 124 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (3)

492) — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 202246P ↗
My spouse is the sole owner of TSPENCE PTY LTD (ACN: 656 066
Private company
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 202246P ↗
Virgin Australia - The Club VIP Membership — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Trusts (1)

My spouse is the sole director and shareholder of TSPENCE PTY LTD (ACN: 656 066 492), which is the Trustee for T.A. Spence Superannuation Fund. The nature of the trust's operation is as my spouse's regulated self-managed superannuation fund.
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 202246P ↗

Real estate (4)

Morningside QLDFamily home
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Morningside QLDFamily home
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
at Morningsidefamily residence
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
at Morningsidefamily residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Directorship (18)

(ACN: 656 066 492) — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 202246P ↗
Allied Unions Superannuation Trustee company Australian Construction Industry Redundancy Trust Trustee company — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Construction Skills Queensland — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Construction Skills Queensland — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Director — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
McKell Institute — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QLeave Board — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QLeave Board — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Queensland Advisory Board — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
The Australian Construction Industry Redundancy Trust — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
The Australian Construction Industry Redundancy Trust — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Tree of Knowledge Training Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Tree of Knowledge Training Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
YWCA Qld Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Spouse: Joined the Board of Tenants Queensland — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
22 Jan 2020 – 25 May 202146P ↗
Inc (Pricar) — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
17 Oct 2019 – 25 May 202146P ↗
Spouse: Pine Rivers Caboolture and Redcliffe Group Training Scheme — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
17 Oct 2019 – 25 May 202146P ↗
Trading as East Coast Training and Employment — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
17 Oct 2019 – 25 May 202146P ↗

Liability (9)

Credit CardCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Credit CardMe Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MortgageCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MortgageCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage 2 x credit cardsCBA ME Bank + Queenslanders credit union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage Car Loan Credit cardCBA CUA ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage Credit CardCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage Credit Card Credit Card Credit Card Debit card with overdraftCommonwealth Bank Me Bank Queenslanders' Credit Union Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Personal loanCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Accounts (13)

Account for Electorate AllowanceCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Additional Debt with Commonwealth Savings Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Business account Savings Account (1) Savings Account (2) Joint savings account Joint offset accountCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Child 1CBA
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Child 1 Savings Account Child 2 Savings AccountCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Child 2CBA
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Personal Account, Joint AccountCBA, ING Direct
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Personal Savings account with Commonwealth Bank for self, children (x2) and Electorate savings account and Credit Card
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Personal acct, accts for each child, joint acct + acct for electorate allowanceANZ Plus: savings acct ING Direct
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings Account (1) Savings Account (2) Joint Savings Account Joint offset account Savings accountCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Ing direct
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Account - personal and JointQueenslanders 'Credit Union, Me bank, CBA & ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings acct - personal + jointQueenslanders' credit union, ME Bank, ANZ + CBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Spouse - appointment as director of the Building and Construction Industry Training Fund (Qld) Ltd (BCITF)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (4)

Account with Australian Super incl. insurance
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Account with Australian Super incl. insurance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Account with Australian Super including Insurance
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Account with Australian Super including Insurance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (6)

Admission to the Queensland Bar
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Employment at Australian Workers' Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Employment with Australian Workers' Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Personal income - Barrister, Sole Trader
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
employment with the Australian Workers' Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (9)

Complimentary Foxtel Subscription for the Electorate Office, provided by ASTRA Subscription Media Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 June 202046P ↗
3 x Cubit Voyager Kits (Coding and Robotics Education Kits) gifted by Australian Computer Society, for primary schools in the Electorate.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Membership of QANTAS Chairman's LoungeMembership of 'The Club' Virgin Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Membership of QANTAS Chairman's LoungeMembership of 'The Club' Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Membership of QANTAS Chairman's Lounge Membership of 'The Club' Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Membership of QANTAS Chairman's Lounge Membership of 'The Club' Virgin Australia Ticket to the Press Gallery's Midwinter Ball, Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
On Friday 24th August 2018, I received a free upgrade from economy class to business class on flight QF1456 flying from Canberra to Brisbane.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Telstra TV Media Box - gifted by Netball Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (23)

Hospitality from Telstra, NRL grand final, attended by a member of staff in the Member’s absence.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Oct 202146P ↗
Upgrade, Virgin Flight Brisbane to Sydney 21 August 2019
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Aug 201946P ↗
Box seat tickets (4) and hospitality at the Brisbane Lions game 01/06/2019, Tabcorp
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
Flight upgrade, Qantas (Cairns, May 2019)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
Complimentary subscription to Foxtel provided by ASTRA for the Electorate Office (1 July 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Cost and expenses associated with a Parliamentary VIP visit to Gorgan Project, Barrow Island Wheatstone Project onto Onslow this included Chartered flights from Perth and returned, tour guides and hospitality during the visit, courtesy of Chevron.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Costs agreement with Maurice Blackburn Pty Ltd
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Derby Day Birdcage Marquee Tickets Flemington (x2) courtesy of Tabcorp
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Economy class flights, accommodation, meals and transfers to visit aid projects in Myanmar/Burma (visit organised by Save the Children Australia, funded by a grant from the Gates Foundation).
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Gift from Australian Federation of Travel Agents - Raffle Prize- The Star - Darling Sydney
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Hospitality during a 2 day Seminar @ the ANU (01 -02 October 2015) hosted by the ANU/Chifley Research Centre
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MembershipAustralian Republican Movement
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Membership of QANTAS Chairman's LoungeReceived a further two years complimentary membership to Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NRL Semi Final Match (Broncos v Roosters) at Suncorp Stadium on Friday 24 September 2015 (x1 ticket in NRL Corporate box)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
On Sunday 17 January 2016, I received a free upgrade from Economy Class to Premium Economy on Air New Zealand Flight 135 - Auckland to Brisbane leg whilst returning from San Francisco.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
One ticket to An Evening with Hillary Rodham Clinton 2018 courtesy of Qantas - (Friday 11 May 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
OtherCost and expenses associated with attending a Chifley Research Centre funded Media and Presentation Course on 7 and 8 May 2015 in Sydney
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PIPA program (France) - Flights, accommodation, travel, translator, some food, covered by French Government.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets courtesy of UniSuper (x2) - (Wednesday 14 June 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Press Gallery Midwinter Ball tickets (x2) courtesy of Macquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Sponsored Economy airline flights Brisbane - Melbourne - Brisbane courtesy of Victorian Womens Trust Organisation. Litigation on foot in the Brisbane Magistrates Court: claim against Butler
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Sponsored Hospitality and TravelCost and expenses associated with attending a Federal Parliamentary Study Group Tour to Israel courtesy of Australia/Israel Jewish Affairs Council (AIJAC) from 4 - 11 July 2015, inclusive.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Spouse - 2016 Committee Member for Cannon Hill Community Kindergarten
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Office held (15)

Electrical Trades Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Jan 202246P ↗
Asbestos Disease Support Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 202146P ↗
Member, Rail Tram and Bus Union (RTBU)
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 May 202146P ↗
Member, United Nations Association of Australia, Qld Division
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 May 202146P ↗
Oxford Street Business Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Feb 202146P ↗
South East Brisbane Chamber of Commerce (SEBCC)
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Dec 201946P ↗
Parliament's Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Nov 201946P ↗
ALP, Theodore Club Inc, Brisbane Broncos Leagues Club, Canberra Labor ClubMember of the AWU Queensland Branch Executive and the AWU National executive.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Children by Choice Assoc, CFMEU, ASU, ARM, Cannon Hills Bowls Club, Greenslopes Bowls Club, Easts Leagues Club, ALP, QLD Law Society, Norman Creek Catchment Inc, Canon Garland Memorial Society Inc, Emily's List, QLD Labor Enabled, YWCA, Carina Leagues Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Local sporting club
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Member of the AWU Queensland Branch Executive and the AWU National Executive
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Member, ALP (Australian Labor Party) Member, Australian Institute of Company Directors Member, The Bar Association (Queensland) Member, The Brisbane Club Member, Bupa
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Member, Children by Choice Association Member, CFMEU Member, Australian Services Union Member, ARM (Australian Republican Movement) Member, Cannon Hill Bowls Club Member, Greenslopes Bowls Club Member, Easts Leagues Club Member, ALP (Australian Labor Party) Member, Norman Creek Catchment Inc. Member, Canon Garland Memorial Society Inc. Member, Emily's List Member, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom Member, Carina Leagues Club Member, Cazaly's Football Club, Cairns Member, Bulimba District Historical Society Member, Australian Fabians Member, RACQ Member, Friends of the ABC Member, Bupa Member, Commonwealth Women's Parliamentary Association
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Theodore Club Inc, Brisbane Broncos Leagues Club, Canberra Labor Club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
YWCA Qld Ltd; Children by Choice Assoc Inc; Australian Institute of Company Directors, CFMEU, ASU, Greenslopes Bowls Club, Qld Law Society, Women Lawyers' Assoc, ALP, Qld Labor Lawyers, Industrial Relations Soc Qld, EMILY's List.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other interest (19)

Memorandum of Agreement with Connor Court Publishing to write a Biographical Monograph (no remuneration)
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 May 202146P ↗
Founding Patron of Place - Chrysalis Art Project in 4101
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Sept 202046P ↗
Spouse: Member of the Management Committee of Tenants Queensland Inc
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 Dec 201946P ↗
Patron, Bulimba Community Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Aug 201946P ↗
Account with Sportsbet Member of the Queensland Advisory Board of the McKell Institute, a research institute
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Book contract with Melbourne University Publishing (MUP)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Chairperson Australian Super Qld Advisory Board
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Cost Agreement with Maurice Blackburn Pty Ltd
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Discount on fees: Maurice Blackburn Pty Ltd
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Litigation on foot in the Brisbane Magistrates Court: claim against Butler
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Receipt of the Australian Finance Conference Economics Prize from the University of New England.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Receipt of the R.S. Neale Memorial Fund - UNE prize for economic history.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Secretary, Cannon Hill Kindy; Student, UQ; Vice Patron, Qld Target Sports Inc
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Student, UQ; Chairperson, Australian Super Qld Advisory Board, Treasurer + VP, Theodore Club Inc
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Treasurer Cannon Hill Kindergarten
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Treasurer Cannon Hill KindergartenTreasurer & VP Theodore Club Inc. Chairperson Australian Super Qld Advisory board
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Treasurer, Cannon Hill Kindergarten, Treasurer and VP, Theodore Club Inc, Chairperson Australian Super Qld Advisory Board
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Vice Patron , QLD Target Sports Inc., Vice Patron, QLD Rifle Association Inc.Patron, QLD Labor Enabled,
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Vice Patron, QLD Target Sports Inc. Vice Patron, QLD Rifle Association Inc. Patron, QLD Labor Enabled Patron, Returned & Services League of Australia QLD Branch, National Servicemen's Sub Branch Inc. Student, University of New England Account with Sportingbet Patron, Qld Labor for Refugees Author, chapter for forthcoming book on human rights, Australian Catholic University (no remuneration)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateGriffith, QLD · Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)Lodged as “BUTLER, Terri MeganLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateGriffith, QLD · Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)Lodged as “BUTLER, Terri MeganLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Griffith. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

21 suburbs

Balmoral (Qld) · Bulimba · Camp Hill · Cannon Hill · Carina (Qld) · Carina Heights · Coorparoo · Dutton Park · East Brisbane · Greenslopes · Hawthorne · Highgate Hill · Holland Park · Kangaroo Point (Qld) · Morningside · Norman Park · Seven Hills (Qld) · South Brisbane · Stones Corner · West End (Brisbane - Qld) · Woolloongabba

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 1 February 2022. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.