Parliament’s Portfolio

Tony Burke

Tony Burke

ALPMember for WatsonNSWparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–45th · Member for Watson · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Watson · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — UK Home Office (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

50
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
10
gifts and sponsored travel
13 Jan 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
50current entries
  • Sponsored travel8
  • Trusts7
  • Shareholdings6
  • Real estate5
  • Liability5
  • Other (6)19
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel8
Trusts7
Shareholdings6
Real estate5
Liability5
Office held5
Accounts4
Other income4
Other assets2
Gift2
Other interest2
Total50
Who each entry is declared for
50current entries
  • Self35
  • Spouse/partner12
  • Dependent child3
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self35
Spouse/partner12
Dependent child3
Total50

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

012202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-012
2026-022
2026-032
2026-042
2026-052
2026-062
2026-072
2026-082

48 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 50 of 50 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (6)

17 June — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
2196 and Kingston — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
ACT — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mid-winter Ball - SBS — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NSW — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Wednesday — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Trusts (7)

Admission to events at the 25th Annual Byron Bay Bluesfest18-21 April, 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Assorted Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs Memorabilia from the Canterbury Bulldogs
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Return airfares, accommodation and ground transport
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Set of six wine glassesSt Patrick's Day event, 14 March 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Sponsored travel by Kazaru Pty Ltd to Beijing and Shanghai10-17 October, 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Tickets from Chugg Entertainment to the Robbie Williams Concert at Allphones Arena Sydney Olympic ParkSunday 28 September 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Tickets from NRL to National Rugby League Grand Final at ANZ StadiumSunday 5th October, 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (5)

Belconnen ACT
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Belconnen ACT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Kingston (ACT) ACT
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MEANDER VALLEYRESIDENTIAL
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Roselands NSWResidential (Sydney)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (5)

MORTGAGE/TASMANIAN PROPERTYCOMMONWEALTH BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage – Kingston, ACT propertyMembers Equity Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage – Roselands, NSW propertyMembers Equity Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgages on properties listedCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgages on properties listedCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Accounts (4)

SVAINGS ACCOUNTENCOMPASS CREDIT UNION
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings accountMembers Equity Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings account Savings accountCBA ME
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings account Savings accountCBA ME
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation with Australian Super
Self
Declared since 13 Jan 202648P ↗
SUPERANNUATION
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (4)

Income from properties: Meander Valley TAS & Port Philip VIC;
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Income from properties: Sorell TAS
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Rent - Kingston, ACT investment propertyRent - Kingston, ACT investment/ residential property
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SELF EMPLOYED
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (2)

Qantas and Virgin Membership lounges
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas and Virgin Membership lounges
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Sponsored travel (8)

Change of flights without charge from QANTAS to enable immediate return from New Zealand for myself and Skye Laris on the first available flight on 15 December 2025.
Self
Declared since 9 Jan 202648P ↗
AS ABOVE
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AS ABOVE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SELECTED RUGBY LEAGUE GAMES/CANTERBURY BULLDOGS,SELECTED PERFORMANCES - ARTS ORGANISATIONS INCLUDING OPERA AUSTRALIA, SYDNEY THEATRE CO BELVOIR THEATRE COMPANY, BLUESFEST
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Selected Rugby League games - Canterbury BulldogsSelected performances - Australian Opera, Sydney Theatre Company, Belvoir Theatre Company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Selected Rugby Leagues games Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs Selected performances, festival and exhibitions in my capacity as Minister for the Arts
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Selected performances - Australian Opera, Sydney Theatre Company, Belvoir Theatre Company
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Selected performances, festivals and exhibitions
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Office held (5)

ALP, CANTERBURY CITY COMMUNITY CENTRE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
ALP, SDA, LAKEMBA BOWLING CLUB BENEVOLENT SOCIETY, LOCAL REGISTERED CLUBS
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
ALP, Shop Distributive and Allied Employees Association, Lakemba Bowling Club Benevolent Society and Local Registered Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
ALP, United Services Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Member of local clubs, Shop Distributive and Allied Employees' Association and Australian Labor Party
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other interest (2)

Director of Government Engagement and Strategy at the Australian Climate and Biodiversity Foundation.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
President of Lakemba Bowling Club Benevolent Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Watson. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

17 suburbs

Bankstown · Bankstown Aerodrome · Belfield · Belmore · Campsie · Canterbury (NSW) · Chullora · Condell Park · Georges Hall · Greenacre · Lakemba · Lansdowne (Canterbury-Bankstown - NSW) · Mount Lewis · Punchbowl (Canterbury-Bankstown - NSW) · Strathfield South · Wiley Park · Yagoona

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 13 January 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.